Summer Love With Glycerin!

Posted on June 22, 2013

5


153-0118

Summer’s finally here and you can finally use those glycerin loaded products that didn’t work so well in the winter. Vegetable Glycerin makes your hair feel like a newborn baby because

– it’s a humectant which draws in moisture to your hair from the air

– very water soluble

– prevents breakage as you detangle

Since vegetable glycerin is very water soluble, it works best when it’s mixed with water. You can actually get most of the benefits of glycerin when using leave ins and moisturizers (products you don’t plan on rinsing out) because it will help keep your hair moisturized as it stays in your hair. You won’t get full benefits of glycerin if it’s in conditioners.

I purchase my 16oz bottle of vegetable glycerin from http://www.swansonvitamins.com/now-foods-vegetable-glycerine-16-fl-oz-liquid for $5.79!

Here are some Vegetable Glycerin recipes for hair:

Vegetable Glycerin Spritz ( my homemade spritz )                                 

Ingredients:

  • 8oz of warm water (75% of the spray bottle size)
  • 2oz of vegetable glycerin (25% of the spray bottle size)
  • your favorite essential oil (optional)
  • 2 tbsp. of aloe vera juice or gel
  • vitamin e oil
  • spray bottle

Recipe:

Pour the water, vegetable glycerin, 5-6 drops of essential oil, aloe vera gel and 5 drops of vitamin e oil into your spray bottle. Shake the bottle well. Store in the fridge. This spritz works well as a daily moisturizing spritz or can be used during your wash regimen like I do as a leave in. You can add other lights oils like coconut oil, I just choose not to.

 

Vegetable Glycerin Spritz

http://kinkycurlycoilyme.com/natural-hair-recipe-vegetable-glycerin/

6 oz. of Distilled Water
3 Tbsp. of Vegetable Glycerin
2 Tbsp. of Extra Virgin Coconut Oil
1 tsp.  of Pure Organic Honey
5 drops of Lavender Oil

 

Liquid Moisturizer

http://blackhairmedia.com/allthingshair/four-simple-homemade-hair-recipes/

In an eight-ounce spray bottle combine the following ingredients:

  •  ½ cup vegetable glycerin
  • 2 ½ cups filtered water
  • 10 drops Vitamin E oil
  • 2 drops peppermint oil
  • 1/8 cup moisturizing conditioner

The recipe can be altered to suit your hair length by putting more or less water or glycerin. Shake together the ingredients before application. Use this on hair as often as hair feels dried out and brittle and then seal with natural oil.

 

ALOE DETANGLER

http://blackgirllonghair.com/2013/01/8-amazing-homemade-aloe-vera-recipes-for-natural-hair/

About the Recipe

I had to play with this recipe a while to get the amount of slip needed for good detangling. I’m still not as happy with it as I am with our store-bought detangler, but it does work really well. And if you’re looking for a way to save money on hair products, this is definitely worth it. As mentioned above, if smell is an issue you can add an essential oil. I don’t usually add any because I use a moisturizing product on top of this and I don’t want too much smell and/or for the smells to compete with one another.

Ingredients

1 cup distilled water

2 T homemade aloe gel

4 drops glycerin

Method

I actually put all items into an old shampoo or conditioner bottle and shake until everything is well-blended. You can also use a spray bottle, too. However, I like my mixture a little thick and I’ve found that the conditioner bottle works better when squeezing it out. I squeeze it onto my hands and then work it through the hair with my fingertips. Then I detangle as normal. I do not rinse it out.

 

ALOE GEL FOR EDGE CONTROL

http://blackgirllonghair.com/2013/01/8-amazing-homemade-aloe-vera-recipes-for-natural-hair/2/

Ingredients

1/2 cup homemade aloe gel

3 T jojoba oil

3 T glycerin

1/4 t xanthum gum

Method

I mix this with my hand mixer on low. The xanthum gum is what will add thickness to the recipe, so adjust how much you use to get the consistency you want.

Posted in: Uncategorized